Meeting Agendas & Minutes

Economic Development and Planning 12/11/2012

Last Updated 12/31/2012 12:36:01 PM

DRAFT - minutes of the Economic Development and Planning Committee meeting

Tuesday; December 11, 2012; 1:30 p.m.; Assembly Room; Sawyer County Courthouse


Committee members present:  Bill Voight (Vice-Chair), Dean Pearson, Warren Johnson.


also present:  County Board Chair Hal Helwig, County Clerk Kris Mayberry


Motion by Johnson, 2nd by Pearson, to approve the meeting agenda.  Motion carried.


Motion by Pearson, 2nd by Johnson, to approve the November 6, 2012 meeting minutes.  Motion carried.


Sawyer County Highway Commissioner Gary Gedart provided an update on the pedestrian and bicycle trail project that would establish a trail from the intersection of Wisconsin Highway 27 and County Highway B in the City of Hayward to the intersection of County Highway B and County Highway K in the Town of Hayward.  Amendments to the plans for the project and the pace of the review of the amendments by the Wisconsin Department of Transportation have pushed back the schedule for construction of the trail to the year 2014.


Northwest Regional Planning Commission (NWRPC) Deputy Director Sheldon Johnson presented a report including that an amendment to the Wisconsin Department of Administration five year plan reallocated $8,700,000 to the Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) housing rehabilitation program that increased the anticipated award for the CDBG consortium to be administered by NWRPC to nearly $2,000,000 (from $90,000 to $180,000 per county).  Mr. Johnson also reported that the tentative 2013 collection dates for household hazardous waste in Sawyer County were May 29th and July 27th; that the regional economic development fund has a balance of approximately $1,400,000; and that Jeff Dietrich was hired by NWRPC to replace the retiring John Stroschine as the NWRPC Program Manager.


Hayward Lakes Visitors and Convention Bureau Executive Director Sherrie Beckman presented a fall report, including a review of the events, promotions, and website activity of the Bureau.


The Committee reviewed a letter from the American Birkebeiner Foundation (dated November 19, 2012) reaffirming the decision of the Foundation to create a new non-motorized trail head on the lands to be donated to Sawyer County lying near the intersection of U.S. Highway 63 and Boedecker Road, and to build a connector trail approximately 3 kilometers in length between the new trail head and the Birkebeiner Trail.  The Foundation indicated in the letter that the trail head would initially consist of a graveled parking area capable of accommodating 30-40 vehicles, and a gravel drive linking the parking area to U.S. Highway 63.  County Clerk Kris Mayberry indicated that a number of measures need to be completed to proceed with plans for the trail head, including completion of the donation transaction, acquisition of the portion of the former railroad right-of-way lying between U.S. Highway 63 and the proposed trail head, approval of access points to U.S. Highway 63, and approval of the connector trail location by the Sawyer County Forestry Department and Committee.


County Clerk Kris Mayberry provided an update on the negotiations for the acquisition of portions of the abandoned railroad right-of-ways for the preservation and development of recreational trails in the County.


The Committee reviewed a request from Lois Roberts, an owner (along with Ken and Sandy Knutson) of the Sissabagama Lake Dam, for a contribution from the Sawyer County Resource Development Fund (environmental impact fund portion) towards the estimated $79,800 expense incurred in the reconstruction of the Dam.  The Big Siss Lake Shoreowners contributed $50,000 towards those expenses.  The Committee determined that no funds are currently available for projects from the environmental impact fund portion of the Resource Development Fund and determined to discuss the availability of these funds and the policies and procedures for requesting a contribution from the funds at the January meeting of the Committee.


Motion by Pearson, 2nd by Johnson, to adjourn the meeting.  Motion carried.


minutes prepared by County Clerk Kris Mayberry