Meeting Agendas & Minutes

Public Safety 01/10/2017

Last Updated 1/16/2017 12:43:47 PM


Minutes of the meeting of the Public Safety Committee.

Sawyer County Board of Supervisors

January 10, 2017; 8:30 a.m.; Assembly Room; Sawyer County Courthouse


Members present: Bill Voight, Helen Dennis, Dale Schleeter, Iras Humphreys, James Schlender


Others present: Tom Hoff, Eric Nilson, Mark Kelsey, Craig Faulstich, Marc Helwig, Pat Sanchez, Sarah Jungbluth, Carol Williamson, John Kruk, Elaine Nyberg, Sherrie Shelton, Joe Sajdera, Ruthe Batulis, John Adler, Frank Zufall


Motion by Dennis, 2nd by Schleeter, to approve the agenda. Motion carried


Motion by Humphries, 2nd by Dennis, to approve the minutes of the December 6, 2016 meeting.  Motion carried.


Jail Administrator Joe Sajdera proved a written report to the Committee.  A full-time jailer resigned in December; covering the position with part-time employees.  New jailers attend 4 weeks of jail academy training.


The Committee discussed the Criminal Justice Coordinating Committee and how it may help reduce inmate numbers.  A 1-hour video is available from the State.


Chief Deputy Faulstich read of an incident on May 3, 2016 involving Deputy Nicole Ripczinski and Deputy Ryan Schick. Sheriff Mark Kelsey presented the two deputies with an Award of Excellence from the Sawyer County Sheriff’s Department.


Animal Control Officer Sherrie Shelton provided a written report to the Committee.  There will be a vaccination clinic in March at no cost to the county.  2686 licenses were sold in 2016.


The Committee discussed the difficulty for some departments to send a representative to meetings at the current scheduled time.  Motion by Humphreys, 2nd by Dennis, to move the monthly Public Safety Committee meeting to noon on the Monday of the week before the County Board meeting. Motion carried.


Coroner Dave Dokkestul provided a written report to the Committee..


Emergency Management Director Pat Sanchez provided a written report to the Committee. A Disaster Aid Meeting is scheduled for January 18, 2017.


Communication System Specialist John Kruk provided a written report to the Committee including an Approved Radio List and Authorization.


Clerk of Court Sarah Jungbluth provided a written report to the Committee. A resolution is required in order for the Clerk of Court Office to contract with a debt collector. Motion by Schlender, 2nd by Dennis, to approve and forward the Resolution authorizing the Sawyer County Clerk of Circuit Court to enter into an Agreement with the Wisconsin Department of Revenue for Unpaid Debt Collection. Motion carried


Sawyer County Ambulance Administrator Eric Nilson presented a written report to the Committee. Nilson informed the Committee that he had submitted his two-week notice to Administrator Hoff and was stepping down as the Ambulance Administrator.  An Interim Director will be hired by the Sawyer County Administrator and a full recruitment will be completed for a permanent, full-time Ambulance Director.


Supervisor Humphreys presented the Committee with a draft mission statement for the Public Safety Committee.


The Committee discussed the Criminal Justice Coordinating Committee.


Motion by Schlender, 2nd by Humphreys to adjourn


Minutes prepared by Carol Williamson